Bone Biology > Laboratory People

  • About

  • People

  • Projects

  • Publications

Group Leader - Bone Biology

Professor Hong Zhou

Post-doctoral Scientists

Dr Kirtan Ganda

Staff and Students

Ms Colette Fong-Yee (Chief RA)
Ms Lauryn Cavanagh
Ms Eugenie MacFarlane (PhD student)

Visiting Scientists

A/Prof Jingbao (Jason) Li, North Western Polytechnical University, Xi’an China
Dr Rowan Hardy, University of Birmingham, UK
Dr Konstantin Horas, DFG Fellow, The German Research Council, Germany
Prof Iraj Nabipour, Busheer University, Iran
Professor Yunzhao Chen, Shihezi University, China
A/Professor Tingyu Wang, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Dr Mingxuan Gao, Jincheng Hospital, Gansu, China
Dr Ting Huyan, North Western Polytechnical University, Xi’an China
Professor Zhenhua Miao, Ningxia Medical University, China

Honours & Prizes

  • Prof Markus Seibel: Fellow, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (2017)
  • Prof Markus Seibel: President (2013-2015) and Immediate Past-President (2015-2017), Australian and New Zealand Bone & Mineral Society
  • Prof Markus Seibel: Chair, National Alliance for Secondary Fracture Prevention (2016- )
  • Prof Markus Seibel: Invited member, Publications Committee, American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (2015 – 2018)
  • Prof Markus Seibel: Invited member, Nominations Committee, American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (2017)
  • Prof Hong Zhou: Re-elected Chair, Board Directors, ICMRS (2013-2015)
  • Prof Hong Zhou: University Fellow Award, Hong Kong Baptist University (2015-2016)
  • Dr Yu Zheng: Cancer Institute NSW Career Development Fellowship (2014 -2017
  • Dr Jinwen Tu: The Best Basic Science Free Paper, Joint Annual Scientific Meeting of the New Zealand Rheumatology Association (NZRA) and Australian Rheumatology Association (ARA), 2017
  • Dr Jinwen Tu: Educational Travel Award, Joint Annual Scientific Meeting of NZRA and ARA, 2017
  • Dr Holger Henneicke: Poster Award, German Society for Osteology Annual Meeting 2015
  • Dr Konstantin Horas: Poster Award, German Society of Osteology Annual Meeting 2016
  • Sylvia Gasparini: Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) 2013-2015
  • Sylvia Gasparini: ANZBMS Travel Award 2015
  • Sylvia Gasparini: CRGH Travel Award 2016
  • Sylvia Gasparini: CRGH Postgraduate Research Prize 2016
  • Sarah Kim: Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) 2014-2016
  • Sarah Kim: ANZBMS Travel Award 2015
  • Sarah Kim: Young Investigator Award, Runner up, 2015
  • Sarah Kim: CRGH Travel Award, 2015
  • Sarah Kim: ANZOS Early Career Research Award, Top 3 Finalist, 2016
  • Sarah Kim: Concord Hospital Conference Travel Award, 2017
  • Sarah Kim: Endocrine Society Outstanding Abstract Award, 2017
  • Sarah Kim: ENDO 2017 Newsworthy Abstract, 2017
  • Sarah Kim: ANZBMS Travel Award, 2017

Professor Markus J Seibel
Head, Bone Biology Laboratory
ANZAC Research Institute
Concord Repatriation General Hospital

icon_email  icon_profile

Professor Markus Seibel is an international authority people_mjson bone and mineral disorders and among the pioneers of biochemical markers of bone turnover. Further long-term research interests include models of bone cancer, osteoporosis, vitamin D, the effects of steroid hormones on bone, and the genetic determinants of bone turnover.

Markus received his scientific and medical training in Germany, Switzerland and in the US. From 1991-2001, he was the Director of the Bone Research Laboratory at the University of Heidelberg, Germany. Amongst many other functions, he was the President of the German Academy of Bone & Joint Sciences, founder and chairman of the ASBMR working group on Biomarkers of Bone Turnover, and a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the International Osteoporosis Foundation. He is an author on more than 250 scientific contributions (H-Index = 30), edited 6 books and was or currently is a member of the editorial boards of leading scientific journals such as the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, Clinical Endocrinology, Calcified Tissue International, Journal of Clinical Densitometry, Journal of Bone and Mineral Research.

In November 2001, Markus took up the position of Professor and Chair of Endocrinology at the University of Sydney, and founded the Bone Research Program at ANZAC Research Institute.

Professor Hong Zhou
Group Leader, Bone Biology Laboratory
ANZAC Research Institute
Concord Repatriation General Hospital

Professor Hong Zhou has a long-standing track record in basic research into bone biology.  She has extensive skills and experience in bone cell and molecular biology and in the use and analysis of animal models of normal and abnormal bone metabolism, skeletal development, bone and cartilage biology, autoimmune arthritis, surgically induced osteoarthritis, fracture healing and cancer, including genetically modified animal models.  Her earlier work involved research into humoral and local regulators of bone resorption and formation.

In 2004, Hong joined Professor Seibel’s group, the Bone Research Program, at the ANZAC Research Institute, University of Sydney. Since then, she has worked continuously on questions of glucocorticoid and other steroid actions in bone, with research output in high-impact journals such as JCI, PNAS, JBC, Arthritis & Rheum, JBMR, Development, Diabetes and Diabetologia. She has published over 110 peer-reviewed papers, reviews, editorials and book chapters with more than 3629 citations (1424 since 2014) (Scopus, April 2019). Her expertise lies in the areas of glucocorticoid physiology and pathophysiology, bone biology and cellular signaling. Hong’s current research focus is to address the complex interplay between glucocorticoid action, skeletal cell biology and fuel metabolism.

More Information on the Bone Biology Research Program...

  • About

  • People

  • Projects

  • Publications